UK’s Best New House – Rothschild’s Flint House Crowned 2015 RIBA House Of The Year

UK’s Best New House – Rothschild’s Flint House Crowned 2015 RIBA House Of The Year

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is delighted to announce this evening Flint House as the winner of the coveted 2015 RIBA House of the Year award, sponsored by specialist insurer, Hiscox. The annual award was created in 2001 to celebrate excellence in housing design.

Flint House, designed by architects Skene Catling De La Pena, was announced as the winner during a special four part TV series for Channel 4, Grand Designs: House of the Year. The series featured homes long-listed and short-listed for the prestigious annual award.

Described by judges as a marvel of geological evolution and construction, Flint House is a celebration of location, material and architectural design at its best. Set in the flint-layered fields of the Rothschild’s estate at Waddesdon Manor in Buckinghamshire, the building rises from the ground as dark, fashioned flint and slowly changes in construction and texture until its refined white chalk blocks disappear into the sky.

Whilst defined by its flint construction, the project is home to an intriguing and intelligent mixed application of rooftops, terraces and recesses that combine to deliver a stunning piece of liveable, provoking, modern architecture that marries into the earthly yet beautiful countryside.

The Mill, a contemporary holiday home in the Scottish Borders, was this evening (EMBARGO 25 November, 10pm) announced as the final project shortlisted for the 2015 RIBA House of the Year.

The full shortlist for the 2015 RIBA House of the Year award is:

  1. Flint House, Buckinghamshire by Skene Catling De La Pena
  2. Kew House, London by Piercy&Company
  3. Levring House, Londonby Jamie Fobert Architects
  4. Maghera, County Downby Mcgonigle McGrath
  5. (The) Mill, Scottish Borders by WT Architecture
  6. Sussex House, West Sussex by Wilkinson King Architects
  7. Vaulted House, London by vPPR Architects
See also  In colour with Whiteville Ceramics Contemporary Finish Library

RIBA President Jane Duncan said:

“The shortlist for the RIBA’s House of the Year represents a remarkable diversity of architectural skills and outcomes. I am delighted that Skene Catling De La Pena’s Flint House for Lord Rothschild has won this year’s prize. Although superbly original and unique, it continues a fine tradition of RIBA award-winning houses that provide exemplars for others: architects, clients and developers. Congratulations to all involved.”

UK’s Best New House – Rothschild’s Flint House Crowned 2015 RIBA House Of The Year

Property & Development Magazine